Serendipity

“Wide Open Spaces” – Westboro, Mass – Rene 2009

Out searching
For meaning
To the end
Of her beginning
She happened
Upon him
On a quest of his own

He walked with
Such purpose
While her strides
Lacked focus
She sang
To the sky
She was in love with
The wind

Hold my hand
Gently
And
Dance with me
Closely
Swirl me around
Like the leaves
In the field
Keep in time
With the bird calls
I’ll be yours
Till the night falls
I’m a girl of the day
To the night
 I must yield

Her breeze
Was refreshing
To this man
On a mission
He eased up on his pace
And followed her dance
“Why search for meaning
To endings
When you can start
New beginnings”
Was his answer
To the question
That she had yet
To ask

Hold my hand
Gently
And
Dance with me
Closely
Swirl me around
Like the leaves
In the field
Keep in time
With the bird calls
I’ll be yours
Till the night falls
I’m a girl of the day
To the night
 I must yield

The night was
Now falling
And the moon
was now calling
He led her
 To his horse
 Serendipity
Together
 They rode
Down the path
To her garden
She whispered
 Goodnight
But her heart ached
 To stay

Hold my hand
Gently
And
Dance with me
Closely
Swirl me around
Like the leaves
In the field
Keep in time
With the bird calls
I’ll be yours
Till the night falls
I’m a girl of the day
To the night
 I must yield

He rode
 Home
recalling
Their walk
 on the footpath
And the dizzying way
In which she
would dance
And  the way
That she said
What she thought
She shouldn’t say
Kept him lingering
In the meadow
Longing for day




Hold my hand
Gently
And
Dance with me
Closely
Swirl me around
Like the leaves
In the field
Keep in time
With the bird calls
I’ll be yours
Till the night falls
I’m a girl of the day
To the night
 I must yield

Peace – Rene 2009
28 thoughts on “Serendipity

  1. Thank you everyone for your commentsand Pearl, yes!, I wrote it in time to a waltz…Thanks IB, you are the sweetest :)And Vince it is so good to hear from you again.OAM- I am glad you got hooked right away :)Jeff- I hear you…Beth-just darn lovely-you are :)Joyful,Felinae,Stephanie-Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!Peace ~ Rene

  2. Love it!Reminds me of "The Dark Girl's Rhyme," by Dorothy Parker, the one that starts:Who was there had seen usWouldn't bid him run?Heavy lay between usAll our sires had done.

  3. Such a lovely litl to the chorus here or to the nigh tI must yield. It almost sounds like a medievela song or something. "Why search for meaningTo endingsWhen you can startNew beginnings"–How powerful a proposition that must be. One's heart could easily become faint. Personally I find myself denying any ending, aas endless as that might be.

  4. Hi Rene :-)I'm over from Poet Pantry this time. This piece has a classic feel to it, to me, and reminds me of one of my favorite poets and writers, Thomas hardy, in its use of nature to express emotion. It also reminds me, in structure of a folk piece called "Bang The Drum Slowly"bang the drum slowlyand play the fife lowlyplay out the dead march as we move alongput roses on my coffin and lay me down easyI am a young soldier who never done wrong.

Say something!

