from something now comes then

 standing here
knee deep
in daydreams 
watching the day sky
 change
pinks and blues
melt with
 smooth yellow hues
if i could only taste
this
sunset taffy

riding
at night

 in my uncle’s
 convertible
watching the scenery
 change
landscapes limbo with
 power lines and moonglow
if i could only hear
those
steel drum streetsongs

i keep

these moments
within the reach
of my
inner child
as i enjoy
 irresponsibly
and it’s always something
 now
that brings me way back
 then
and i’m always ready
to go back there
again

climbing
 trees
in the old apple orchard
watching the season
 change
honey crisp smiles
under vivid 
leaf piles
i could forever smell
this
harvest goodbye

dusting frames
on old family pictures
watching the timeline
change
scenes and smiles
stretch ‘cross
years and miles
if i could only feel those
long ago
bear hugs

I keep
these moments
within the reach
of my
inner child
as I enjoy
irresponsibly
and it’s always something
now
that brings me way back
then
and I’m always ready
to go back there
again

Peace ~ Rene 2010

25 thoughts on “from something now comes then

  1. I'm always ready to go back "there" too… My kids help me do that. And if not, I take them back "there" with me. They love hearing about all the stories of my childhood. I only wish I could remember more! You have inspired me to write them down πŸ™‚ thanks!

  2. Rene, you've written another outstanding poem. I've read it over and over. Beautiful imagery. And so good to be in touch with your delightful inner child. I feel a slight sense of sadness, torn between wanting to go back and being grateful for where I am. Thank you for sharing your writing. It always makes me stop and think. Have a wonderful birthday weekend. Love, Ginny

  3. I was going to quote a bit from here but then after getting done it is just all so amazing. this one really touches me. A work of art with your words. You are incredible. As i've said before, i would so buy a book of your poetry and I rarely even read the stuff.

  4. "within the reach of my inner childas i enjoy irresponsibly"this makes me think of grape bubble tape. I used to save the container long after it was empty, opening it just to soak of the smell. ahhhhh..grape bubble tape.Actually, the whole thing threw me back in time. Amazing expression..and thank you.

Say something!

