the water bearer


your words
are water

each
drop
hitting the spot
with even more intensity
than the one before
filling in
the dry
neglected
cracks
in my heart
restoring life
giving hope
my cup
overflows
my thirsty
soul rejoices
realizing
the value
of my well
and how dry
and untended to
i had let it become
look down at me 
now
see your reflection, the mirror of my soul


Peace ~ Rene


Thanks to Brandi of Recklessly Me for this week’s “One Single Impression” prompt, “Grace”. 


One Single Impression is a community of poets writing and sharing haiku and other poetic forms.
Each week we will offer up a new prompt that we hope will inspire your writing. We invite participants to share ideas for prompts, too.
29 thoughts on “the water bearer

Say something!

