contradictionally yours

i put
three sugars in my decaf
it ain’t funny
but i just can’t help but laugh
i make up stories
when i go to confession
i drown my veggies
in a lake of salad dressing
i’m really happy
but i write poems that are sad
i try to be good
but the good can’t beat the bad

hey, hey
i’m contradictionally yours
i’m not counting
but i’m keeping score
i am organized
confusion
i’m a winner
but i’m losing
my self control
i gotta just let it go

i say
i miss you but i wanna be alone
i’m tired of talking
but i’m not gettin’ off the phone
i’d walk five miles
cuz i’d do that just to see your face
then i’d beg for a ride
back to my place
i really want to change
but then just stay the same
i like the players
but i just can’t take the game

hey, hey
i’m contradictionally yours
i’m not counting
but i’m keeping score
i am organized
confusion
i’m a winner
but i’m losing
my self control
i gotta just let it go

i say
i’m never gonna write again
but then my hand’s
always reachin’ out for the pen
i save my pennies in a piggy bank
but throw all my dollars down my gas tank
i say i’m gonna eat like the vegan’s do
it’s all over when i smell a steak on the barbecue

hey, hey
i’m contradictionally yours
i’m not counting
but i’m keeping score
i am organized
confusion
i’m a winner
but i’m losing
my self control
i gotta just let it go

Peace – Rene


I posted this poem for One Shot Wednesday at the One Stop Poetry blog.

Here are the rules (taken directly off their blog):
1. Write a poetic piece & post it on your blog
2. Link it back to One Shot
3. Sign up in the Mr Linky list, linking directly to your post, AFTER you’ve posted it.
4. Go visit others who have signed up! Offer support & encouragement. Share your love of words and insight respectfully. Please try to visit as many participating poets as you can. We all could use and appreciate kind feedback.

32 thoughts on “contradictionally yours

  1. I'm quite familiar with the "I Love You, Go Away" syndrome, thank you very much! You've expressed it here in a way that is much more fun than the way I usually see it expressed!

  2. Oh I relate so much to this one… Cannot control so many things… but what the heck, they are part of life, of life's pleasures…Let's not judge ourselves.:)

  3. I love the quirky character voice of this. Such an eloquent demonstration that halting, demotic speech can ring with poetry (just to be contradictional!) And, yes, it would take a tune.

  4. This reads like the lyrics to a familiar song. Like so many others, I can relate. The line that really struck home was "i make up stories when i go to confession." It's been a very (very) long time, but when I was a child of about eight, I went to parochial school. Every Friday, the nuns would march us all over to the rectory, where the priest was waiting to hear our confessions. I could never think of anything to say (what eight-year-old has sins?), so I made stuff up. It never occurred to me to confess to lying to the priest the previous week.

  5. OMG loving this: organized confusion and drowning veggies in a lake of salad dressing!! This piece is hilarious. You are a witty fun chick. I really enjoyed your One Shot

  6. This made me laugh and smile and realise, as someone else has commented, that we're all human. (or is it just a certain personality type that writes poetry?!)Brilliant, thoroughly enjoyed this.

Say something!

