ruby thewes day

there ain’t nothin’
i depise more
than a floggin’
rooster
‘cept maybe
despicable webs
spun by righteous men
of… mischief
an’ if i add them tears
i cried for my
daddy
stolen from a crocodiles back
i’d fill up my iron stew pot
throw ’em all in
set it on the fire
an’ jus listen to ’em cry
shit
it’s rainin’ 
                                                   


Ruby Thewes was a character from the book/movie  Cold Mountain. She was brilliantly brought to life by Renee Zellweger.
57 thoughts on “ruby thewes day

  1. The first thing I thought of was Ruby saying something like, "I do hate a flogging rooster" and then wringing it's neck. I can imagine how good that stewing bird must have smelled to those two starving women and they never had to be afraid of that mean old rooster again. Great book. Great movie.

  2. I read that whole long book, and quite enjoyed it right up to the very end when he DIES! W.t.f.?I loved Zellweger and Kidman in the movie, though Jude Law didn't do it for me. I did like him in AI (Artificial Intelligence) though.

  3. One of my favorite books and most beloved characters, period. I am rarely pleased with book to movie adoptions, but dang if that wasn't the most perfectly cast movies I have ever seen!

  4. I have heard of this film, but seen neither the film nor the read the book, to my great embarrassment. The 'voice' is one that pricks up my ears … Thank you so much for your kind words on my story.

  5. Know story and book, but didn't make the connection at first glance. I was just digging the vernacular and the allovertheplace narrative, espec. "shit/it's rainin'"Just tickled me, great read!Amy B.L.PS the word ID was "nestonya"… think hens!

Say something!

