beacon hill, late sunday afternoon



rene foran ~ 2010

piano music
drifted lightly
 from the window
perfuming the air 
 before joining together
with cobblestone quicksteps
i stood outside of the gate
charmed and disarmed
my uncultured ear
 could not name the tune,
what era it was from,

or which composer

still, it welcomed me
as if i were
 a long lost friend

Sunday Scribblings was set up to provide inspiration and motivation for anyone who enjoys writing and would like a weekly challenge. 


22 thoughts on “beacon hill, late sunday afternoon

  1. Really well done, in so many ways. I like the combination of the music and the sound of steps on the cobblestones, and so much more. When I read it aloud this is 'music to my ears' :o)

  2. I know how you feel about the sound of the piano, especially when heard in that type of an atmosphere. When I'm in the other room and my son is practicing in the living room, the sound of his playing is especially soothing.Great piece.Cheers,Casey

Say something!

