the letting go

the will
is gone

and all
that’s left

is the thrill
of passing on

of leaving
debts

and dirty
laundry

lists and
tangled ends

family and
fortunes

unsorted
undone

and so
with the letting go

begins
the end

~

a brave
new face

with a mission
carved in stone

sits down
beside me

finds a way
into my bed

whistling
eyes smiling

hand on
my thigh

marking time
by my gate

picking the lock
on my soul

always
faithful

forever
charming

darling
it’s time

when are you
coming home?

Rene ~ October 2012

Image: Sick Woman, 1655, Jan Steen via Magpie Tales

Pretty depressing take on the prompt.
When I saw the smile on the woman’s face the first thing I thought was that she was dying and had come to terms with it. She was ready to let go.

41 thoughts on “the letting go

  1. When it comes to death, a lot of people (myself included) worry about all the things that will be left unfinished. But as people often say, "their worries are over" too. Depressing, yes, but I like your take on it.

  2. When it comes to death, a lot of people (myself included) worry about all the things that will be left unfinished. But as people often say, "their worries are over" too. Depressing, yes, but I like your take on it.

  3. Your Mag is timely for me — and well done ~~ My 16-year old grandson asked a profound question of me today ~~~ 'how do you deal with the idea of death at your age' … it threw me. He was getting ready to hike our ski mountain … I told him it was a serious question and deserved a thoughtful answer … . (I've been pondering my response all afternoon, think I'm ready with an answer.)

  4. Your Mag is timely for me — and well done ~~ My 16-year old grandson asked a profound question of me today ~~~ 'how do you deal with the idea of death at your age' … it threw me. He was getting ready to hike our ski mountain … I told him it was a serious question and deserved a thoughtful answer … . (I've been pondering my response all afternoon, think I'm ready with an answer.)

  5. I loved this. Those last lines are rich. I read this four or five times just to let them sink it.excellet

Say something!

