Glory, fading

she was light and magic, springtime laughter woven through her hair
i found her world cluttered and noisy, a place where logic sighs
but how my heart leaps when i hear a bird call, her breath of life

she was a singer of hymns, a joyful, patient sentinel
i was a snare drum, ready to snap at the skip of a beat
i now find myself leeching to the choir, waiting on her voice

she was my anchor as well as my spirited ticket to ride
how i gnawed at the tether, unaware of the life line
i hold, waiting like a child, to the end of her crimson thread

Rene ~ October 10, 2012

Trying my hand at form of poetry known as Korean Sijo
a departure for me because I’m a flighty free verse girl.

I learned of this form from my friend and fellow poet Marian at Runaway Sentence
Girl can write. I hope I’ve done the form justice.

Lastly, this is a submission for 100 Word Song, hosted by my friend and fellow writer, Lance from My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog. I went over the 100 word limit by 10.
Sorry, had to be done. Mea culpa.

I’d like to take this opportunity to share a few words from Lance:

“Several months ago, I wrote a fictional short story, called Italian Radio inspired by the release of aquitted American murder suspect, Amanda Knox. Since then, the 4,500 word story has been rewritten, edited, re-edited, and is now competing against amazing writers in a context called America’s Next Author. 
Public support such as tweets, facebook shares, and of course, website votes mean a lot.
I try to entertain ya’ll here at My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog. 
So now, if you can, entertain me, too. 
Go here: http://www.ebookmall.com/americasnextauthor  
and / or here:http://www.ebookmall.com/author/lance-burson  
Read Italian radio, and if you like it, cast a vote for me, please.
Tell a friend or fifty.
Thank you for continuing to click here when there are so many cooler places on the internets to hang. 
Remember, I live with four women, so sharing the prize is properly out of my hands.
People are reading and reviewing and voting as I type.
They count tweets, facebook shares and written reviews on the page. 
If you promote this on the twitter use the hastag #ana2012 . 
There are enough pills to get me through this…..Please and thank you, my fellow blog pugilists.”

26 thoughts on “Glory, fading

  1. Thank you for the support. I'm fond of this form. Even for a free verse girl, I like how you intepreted "faded" from a memory and style POV. I'm honored by your post.

  2. how i gnawed at the tether, unaware of the life linei hold, waiting like a child, to the end of her crimson thread////pretty cool line that…and i like the character sketch within….this line in particular plays well the duality…the tether, but also our desires to break free of it in our gnawing….dang that sounded somewhat intelligent…ha…ok, i like it…smiles.

  3. how i gnawed at the tether, unaware of the life linei hold, waiting like a child, to the end of her crimson thread////pretty cool line that…and i like the character sketch within….this line in particular plays well the duality…the tether, but also our desires to break free of it in our gnawing….dang that sounded somewhat intelligent…ha…ok, i like it…smiles.

  4. I really enjoy the sijo form. I tried it myself this past week —- http://inthecornerofmyeye.blogspot.com/2012/10/pine-cone.html You have so many beautiful phrasings in this poem. I like especially "she was light and magic, springtime laughter woven through her hair" and also "i was a snare drum, ready to snap at the skip of a beat." I know what you mean about being a free verse kind of person, but sometimes it is fun to try one's hand at a form, I think. You did well.

  5. I really enjoy the sijo form. I tried it myself this past week —- http://inthecornerofmyeye.blogspot.com/2012/10/pine-cone.html You have so many beautiful phrasings in this poem. I like especially "she was light and magic, springtime laughter woven through her hair" and also "i was a snare drum, ready to snap at the skip of a beat." I know what you mean about being a free verse kind of person, but sometimes it is fun to try one's hand at a form, I think. You did well.

Say something!

