son of a gun

he keeps a
light on

and a sharp
word

ready, aimed
and firing

at the
windmills

of his
mind games

he keeps my
love letters

in his gun
safe

and my
heart

outside
his window

pumping
wild with

If I had
beens

don’t get too
close

he’ll eat you
up

everybody
keeps on

say-ing
I laugh

and soak my
cigarettes

in
promises

and
gasoline

for the bang
I love

my son
of a gun

Rene~October 15, 2012
For Magpie Tales
and Alfred

Image ( via Magpie Tales)
Midnight Snack, 1984, Curtis Wilson Cost

45 thoughts on “son of a gun

  1. smiles…keeps your letters in the gun safe and your heart outside the window….interesting….soaking the cigarettes in promises…hope they dont go up in smoke you know….and in the end you love him….interesting…smiles….

  2. smiles…keeps your letters in the gun safe and your heart outside the window….interesting….soaking the cigarettes in promises…hope they dont go up in smoke you know….and in the end you love him….interesting…smiles….

  3. I soaked my cigarettes in promises and gasoline once and it blew my head off – love can be a dark, edgy place, bit like Russian routlette at times and can go either way. I love this. Truly. You clever writer you.

  4. I soaked my cigarettes in promises and gasoline once and it blew my head off – love can be a dark, edgy place, bit like Russian routlette at times and can go either way. I love this. Truly. You clever writer you.

  5. Wow, this was a good poem. Reading at dVerse, I hadn't realized it was a MAG until the very end. Love these lines:for the bangI lovemy sonof a gunBravo for a clever approach!

  6. Wow, this was a good poem. Reading at dVerse, I hadn't realized it was a MAG until the very end. Love these lines:for the bangI lovemy sonof a gunBravo for a clever approach!

Say something!

