the beckoning

it started out well enough
toast and jam, and ring a ring o’ roses

but then, out came the lanterns
shining, burning the daylight down to grey

my soul tugged, called to duty
to learn every little world wonders name

what is it that makes them so
these truths beg to be witnessed every day

do you not see what I see?
a lamp in every laugh, cough and footstep

irresistible journeys
forgive me, as I must be on my way

Rene ~ March 24, 2013
For Magpie Tales

Image:
Not to be Reproduced, 1937 by the Belgian surrealist René Magritte

22 thoughts on “the beckoning

  1. smiles…enjoyed…each day is an adventure in finding those wonders…they surround us…as do those lights when we look for them…mine today is in snow…i wasnt really looking forward to it, but standing on the porch tonight i appreciated its hush…

  2. Your poems are always so emotional, and I love that about them. My favourite line in this was the "toast and jam, and ring a ring o' roses". Now I just want toast and a cup of Irish Breakfast tea.

Say something!

